Project 333 at 33. My first attempt at a capsule wardrobe.

Welcome back to Going On Growing. It’s been a while.

I have been taking some time to focus on family but am coming back because I have a new project brewing and I wanted to share it with you. In honor of my 33rd birthday this month I’m giving myself the gift of Project 333. Project 333 comes from the blog Be More With Less, authored by minimalist Courtney Carver. I have followed her blog for quite some time now always eyeing Project 333 from afar but not being quite ready to take the challenge. The premise is that your closet consists of only 33 items that you wear on a regular basis. Every 3 months you rotate essential items in and out, such as a warm sweater in place of a summer tank. Rules can be found in the link provided above but main points to know are:

1. This is meant to include clothing you wear when you step out the door to go somewhere (work, friends for drinks, date nights, etc.).

2. Pajamas, lounge wear, workout clothing are not included.

3. Purse, sunglasses, jewelry, other accessories are included.

4. You don’t get rid of everything else you own. Maybe some of it, or a lot of it, but the rest goes in a box. If you get desperate, it’s there to comfort you and let you know everything will be okay.

I’ve been afraid to take the leap because it is so limiting but I know without a doubt that the clutter I’ve cleared out of my life previously has made way for greater things. I’m positive this project will do the same for me.

Here is my closet:

Capsule Wardrobe spring 2014_1

 

Capsule Wardrobe spring 2014)2

I have two challenges to work around. First, I love color. Can’t say I’ve ever seen a capsule wardrobe with so much color. When minimizing this was challenging because I really don’t have a base wardrobe to build upon. However, this is what I’ve been wearing so it must work! Second, shoes were surprisingly difficult to choose and I’m not sure I love what I ended up with. However, my goal was to not spend money to complete my wardrobe so here it is.

My exceptions:

1. I am not including accessories but will still limit them. Because I’m trying not to buy something and because of my color issues excluding these allowed me the flexibility I needed to make this transition. In time I hope to add these into my 33.

  • sunglasses
  • earrings
  • bracelet
  • necklace
  • purse

2. I work one Saturday a month at a hospital. I put on scrubs and my clunky Danskos for this and only this day every month. These are not included.

3. I will attend my brother’s ordination into the Catholic priesthood (equivalent to a wedding) next weekend and for this I’ll wear a fancy dress and shoes not included in here.

Lastly, and my favorite part is that this has helped me see gaps in my wardrobe. I would like to incorporate more skirts, scarves, and belts into future wardrobes. I lack completer items which tend to pull outfits together. For now, my current wardrobe will do.

I’m way more excited about this project than I thought I would be. Here goes nothin’ and thank you Courtney for inspiring me to make yet another change in my life for the better!

10 thoughts on “Project 333 at 33. My first attempt at a capsule wardrobe.

  1. Awesome! I have been struggling with my wardrobe so much lately. Remind me to tell you about the wardrobe challenge that my sister took on last year. It was pretty crazy!

  2. I am doing P333 too, and I also love color. I don’t think that it’s necessarily a problem. I was inspired not to feel like a capsule had to be neutral by Xandra from fashionablylight.com who has a limited wardrobe full of color and pattern (even more so mine). I wear a lot of brightly colored cardigans and tops with mostly neutral bottoms, or brightly colored dresses with said cardigans. I have been keeping track of what I wear for the past 6 weeks and have found that 33 is more than enough (I didn’t count shoes, bags or accessories, but I don’t have many anyway). If you want to see most posts I have a category for P333 on my blog.
    Good luck with your challenge! although you will probably find it not much of a challenge at all.

    • Wonderful! I took a quick glance at Fashionably Light and Xandra is adorable. Looking forward to reading more. I agree with you on the 33 items. I don’t feel like I’m missing anything except for the fact that now I’m doing this I know more about what I need to look for when I shop. Off to check out your blog. Thank you for the advice and words of encouragement!

  3. You’re going to love it! P333 limits one thing to give you clarity in other areas, and for me, the lack of time spent wondering, “What am I going to wear?” has been freeing.

    • I love hearing others’ stories. I already feel it and I think it’s only going to get better! I hesitated for so long because I thought it was so limiting but after I got my closet picked out I couldn’t wait to start.

  4. I love your color palette! I’m in the middle of my first 333 capsule wardrobe, and I completely overlooked having cohesive colors–oops!–but it’s helping me see that the colors I gravitate toward actually work together really well, which I never realized before Project 333. I really like the pieces you chose. Best of luck to you! : )

Leave a Reply

