Simplify. Simplify. Simplify.

When I’m not repeating this too shall pass to myself as my daughter is smacking her little brother over the head with a box car, simplify has been my mantra of choice. I think my husband might start soliciting neighbors for conversation of another sort if I continue to talk to him about it so I’m taking it to the blog.

A friend recently moved her family of four from her just-far-enough-out-of-town-that-I didn’t-see-her-all-that-often house to a new location right downtown. It is superb. After visiting her in her new digs this week I took an enviable glance at the kids toy room. She and her husband have always seemed to have an understated and in control amount of toys in their house. The kids play with unabashed fervor but when it’s time for clean up it seems to be done within minutes. (I’m guessing she would disagree with me on this one but I’ll go ahead and let her know that’s how it appears.)

I would love for this to be true in our house. And I believe it can be true.

In an interesting twist, the last time I cleaned up the toys the kids haven’t touched them. Six days it’s been. All the toys are sitting along the wall lined up waiting patiently. But right now running back and forth on the couch seems to be entertaining enough. (And dangerously enticing. The one year old has taken to swinging off the back onto the hardwood floor. Be still my beating heart.)

To make matters even more challenging I will admit that many of the children’s toys I love. The Melissa and Doug fruit and vegetables, dress up outfits and accessories, and the large-and-in-charge Green Toys trucks are great. I can’t get rid of those! Don’t even get me started on all the beautiful hand me downs we’ve received from ever so generous family members.

IMG_1765

In addition to my personal vendetta against stuff I’ve been further inspired by a few articles and posts I’ve read and how getting rid of stuff truly enhances the quality of life.

Why I took my kids toys away from the blog Living Well and Spending Less

Zero Waste Home

Becoming Minimalist

IMG_0139

After cleaning out art supplies and books. I still look at this and want it emptier.

I find that I tend to make arbitrary choices in deciding how much stuff I’m willing to keep around. For example, my art supplies needed to fit into the cubbies next to my desk. No more storing extra in the closet or on top of the cabinet. These were just the parameters I set for myself because of the space I had in that room. Arbitrary but in my mind necessary. I have an idea as to the space I will allow for the toys but I know it’s going to be very hard to stick to it.

The bin for toys downstairs.

Toy bin for downstairs.

I’m wondering if you have any further suggestions for how you simplify and then keep it that way. For now, I’ve set a garage sale date as November 23rd. Here goes nothin’.

8 thoughts on “Simplify. Simplify. Simplify.

  1. Hey there! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know
    how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when browsing from my iphone 4.

    I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to resolve this problem.

    If you have any recommendations, please share. Cheers!

  2. Hi there! This post couldn’t bee wriutten any better!
    Looking aat this article reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He constantly kept talking about this. I will forward this post to him.
    Pretty sure he will hazve a very good read. I
    appreciate you for sharing!

  3. On a deeper look at what works for architecture dental
    educational videos to know from the list of contractors in Houston TX
    especially if they remodel and ultimately whast comes back to society.
    And in the world in which people ccan lose weight inspired
    him. Please, please let me dentfal educational videos just show
    this. Unfortunately it would be flooring that is Karl Rove’s descision to do, ‘ Ortiz said.
    The wrong colors First, we’re not sure how good it is since a new house is exposed to different ways to survive?

Leave a Reply

