Danish Cobbler

I’m like millions of other Americans when it comes to ethnicity and race. I check the box labeled “white.” White. What does that really mean? I don’t identify with a particular cultural group and growing up didn’t learn the unique traditions of a country or race.

My parents’ ancestors traveled across the Atlantic over a century ago, entered at Ellis Island, and officially became American. From here much of a persons cultural past became exactly that, the past. To many entering America at this time it was an opportunity to re-invent. A perfect clean slate and new start. I don’t know if that was the case with my family but I do know that the sense of identity associated with a culture faded. And now I am white and desperately cling to any small trail of a tradition that identifies me with that so foggy past.

What I do know is that I’m part Danish. The Danish comes from my mother’s side and one of the few traditions that prevailed were recipes. I would like to share our cobbler recipe with you as I think it could win awards. It’s traditionally made with olallieberries but many other fruits can be used. I made it tonight with peaches, raspberries, and blueberries. I enjoyed a warm bowl of the cobbler this evening and relished every bite. I hope you enjoy a sample of my family’s Danish past.

And by the way, it’s very easy to make!

Danish cobbler.

Danish cobbler.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

1. Put 1/4 C to 1/2 C butter (however much you dare but the more you put the more flavorful) in bottom of a 9 x 11 baking dish and place in oven to melt while you prepare the recipe.

2. Toss 3-4 cups of berries (olallieberries, peaches, blackberries, raspberries, blueberries, or any combo of the above) with a few tablespoons of sugar. Set aside.

3. In a bowl wisk together:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup flour

4. Remove baking dish from oven when butter is melted and pour in berries. Pour flour mixture over berries. DO NOT STIR.

5. Bake for 60 mins. Remove from oven and let cool for at least 5 minutes.

Traditionally served as a Danish dish, cream would be poured over the cobbler. I prefer low-fat milk. Ice cream is also decadent.

Thank you to my mom for this recipe and for preserving a piece of our family’s history.

3 thoughts on “Danish Cobbler

Leave a Reply

