love affair

when I wake

it’s like a summoning

i absent-mindedly don my robe and slippers

slowly descend the stairs

and make my way

__________

the mug with petite flowers is my favorite

or perhaps the one with shades of blue

i put it in position

and pour with anticipation

__________

the scent slowly travels to my nose

i inhale deeply

enjoying the bouquet

i froth the milk

waiting, waiting for the moment

__________

when the foam is poured

i watch as the black and white collide

swirling together

two flavors, a marriage of sorts

__________

i place my book on the table

the coffee right beside

and relax into the chair

__________

the first sip is always the best

calming

comforting

propelling

__________

enjoyed in peace

a moment for me

__________

it is my love affair

7 thoughts on “love affair

Leave a Reply

