New Year’s Resolutions

I love setting New Year’s Resolutions. They get a bad rap because people tend not to stick to them but I love using goal setting as a way to help focus my personal desires. When setting my resolutions, I follow a few simple rules to make sure they are attainable.

Writing

First, I try to make my goals small. I often have a larger goal in the works but it’s the small steps that lead to the accomplishment of something grand. Of course, this is all relative from person to person. (The best part about this is you can always move forward to the next goal once the small one is accomplished. This way, you’ve achieved not just one goal but are on your way to another.) Second, I make the goal tangible. Statements such as “be more organized” are difficult because they can be achieved in so many ways. Rather than naming organization as a goal, it should be a specific item, such as “keep my desk clean.” (One thing I really should work on! But I already have other plans for this year.) Lastly, there can be no more than three goals on the list. Sometimes just one is all I need. Otherwise it gets too overwhelming. Plus, it helps me decide what is really important.

__________________________________

Resolutions for 2013

___________________________________

1. Blog ~2 times/week: Since starting this blog I’ve experienced such satisfaction in putting my thoughts into words. Very cathartic. Unexpectedly, it is an amazing tool in developing my writing skills. (I know, but I really didn’t realize people used blogs for this purpose.)

*This goal is also two-fold in that I would like to watch less TV in general. I’ve watched far less since starting the blog because I spend my time here instead of glossy eyed on the couch watching Burn Notice reruns while the kids are sleeping. So, in writing more I will automatically watch less. Love that.

2. Train for and race in XC12K: I’ve had a hard time getting back to running since Simon was born. Yes, he’s only five months old but I believe it’s a matter of priority and I need to make this my priority. It gets me outdoors and I feel better physically and mentally when I run. My goal is the XC12K in August 2013; a great trail race in the foothills. I ran this in 2011 and had fun but cramped going downhill and it actually brought me to a walking pace. I will get my revenge this year. (Insert evil laugh here.)

*Until I begin training for this, I’ve already made plans with a friend to meet up once a week for a Saturday trail run. This will lead to more regular running for me.

3. Pray Regularly: If you’ve been following me you know that I’ve recently started attending church again. This has been cleansing in so many ways but I get overwhelmed by religion and faith, too. I thought a simple way to jump back in would be to start praying. I’ve not prayed regularly in years. I tend to do what I call emotional praying – for example, after the Connecticut tragedy. Specifically, here’s when I want to pray:

  • Grace at dinner.
  • Evening prayers for myself and with Hannah.

________________________________

Making a resolution should be about getting excited for something new; not about feeling guilty for the things you haven’t done. So, give yourself a pat on the back for even thinking about setting a resolution (you know you want to!) and start jotting down some ideas. Set a deadline for when they need to be decided on, too. Good luck! I would love to hear about them.

13 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Good suggestions! I usually try to do too much. Last year I set 8 resolutions and only stuck to 1–read through the bible cover to cover (and boy was that tough!)

    This year, just one resolution: Catch a fish, clean, cook and eat it. I think I’m the only person in Idaho who doesn’t know how!

    • I would say the one resolution was quite impressive. Tell me you didn’t go it alone! I like your new one. Sounds fun. You can add me to the list of fishermen challenged. I think I did it long ago with my dad.

Leave a Reply

